Jason Bateman And Jon Favreau Up Against Each Other at 2021 DGA Awards

The 73rd annual DGA Awards’ nominees for television, commercials and documentary have been announced, unraveling Zach Braff among those vying for recognition of their work behind the camera.

AceShowbiz -Actors-turned-filmmakers Jason Bateman and Jon Favreau are up for a top Directors Guild Association award for their work behind the camera on hit shows “Ozark” and “The Mandalorian“.

The pair will compete with “Better Call Saul“‘s Vince Gilligan, “Homeland” director Lesli Linka Glatter, and “Bridgerton“‘s Julie Anne Robinson for the 2021 Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series prize at a ceremony on April 10.

Meanwhile, Zach Braff has earned a mention in the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series category for overseeing an episode of “Ted Lasso“. He’ll be up against fellow “Ted Lasso” director M.J. Delaney, “The Flight Attendant“‘s Susanna Fogel, and “Curb Your Enthusiasm“‘s Erin O’Malley and Jeff Schaffer, while the directors for “The Undoing“, “Hamilton“, “The Queen’s Gambit“, “WandaVision“, and “Little Fires Everywhere” will compete for the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Limited Series trophy.

The nominees for TV, commercials, and documentary were announced on Monday, March 8. Those up for the documentary category are “The Truffle Hunters”, “My Octopus Teacher”, “Welcome to Chechnya”, “Boys State” and “The Painter and the Thief”, whereas “The Daily Show With Trevor Noah” and “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert” get nods for the variety/talk/news/sports category.

The nominees for theatrical feature film and first-time feature film, in the meantime, will be unveiled on Tuesday, March 9.

The 73rd annual DGA Awards will also see ex-DGA president Paris Barclay being feted with the DGA Honorary Life Member Award. About the honor, DGA president Thomas Schlamme stated, “Paris is one of the statesmen of our industry, and his leadership has been transformative – whether on set creating iconic television, at the negotiating table fighting for our members, or as a champion for a fair and equitable world.”

“Behind the camera, he is an innovator whose award-winning work is part of the zeitgeist of our culture,” Thomas added. “And no matter how busy his schedule, he always makes room for mentorship, leading the way for so many diverse voices.”

Here are the full list of nominees:


Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series

  See also…

  • HBO Responds to ‘Blackface’ Allegations by ‘Lovecraft Country’ Extra
  • ‘The Voice’ Recap: A Country Singer Earns Four-Chair Turn in Blind Auditions Part 3
  • ‘Bachelor’ Recap: Matt James Confronts His Dad Ahead of Fantasy Suites
  • Jason Sudeikis Applauded by Olivia Wilde for Winning Big at 2021 Critics’ Choice Awards
  • Jason Bateman – “Ozark“, “Wartime” (Netflix)
  • Jon Favreau – “The Mandalorian“, “Chapter 9: The Marshal” (Disney+)
  • Vince Gilligan – “Better Call Saul“, “Bagman” (AMC)
  • Lesli Linka Glatter – “Homeland“, “Prisoners of War” (Showtime)
  • Julie Anne Robinson – “Bridgerton“, “Diamond of the First Water” (Netflix)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series

  • Zach Braff – “Ted Lasso“, “Biscuits” (Apple TV+)
  • MJ Delaney – “Ted Lasso“, “The Hope that Kills You” (Apple TV+)
  • Susanna Fogel – “The Flight Attendant“, “In Case of Emergency” (HBO Max)
  • Erin O’Malley – “Curb Your Enthusiasm“, “The Surprise Party” (HBO)
  • Jeff Schaffer – “Curb Your Enthusiasm“, “The Spite Store” (HBO)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Limited Series

  • Susanne Bier – “The Undoing” (HBO)
  • Scott Frank – “The Queen’s Gambit” (Netflix)
  • Thomas Kail – “Hamilton” (Disney+)
  • Matt Shakman – WandaVision” (Disney +)
  • Lynn Shelton – “Little Fires Everywhere“, “Find a Way” (Hulu)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

  • Paul G. Casey – “Real Time with Bill Maher“, “Episode 1835” (HBO)
  • Jim Hoskinson – “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert“, “#1025 Live Show Following Capitol Insurrection” (CBS)
  • Don Roy King – “Saturday Night Live“, “Dave Chappelle; Foo Fighters” (NBC)
  • David Paul Meyer – “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah“, “President Obama: Inspiring Future Leaders & “A Promised Land”” (Comedy Central)
  • Christopher Werner – “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver“, “Trump & Election Results” (HBO)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

  • Stacey Angeles – “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” Presents “Remembering RBG: A Nation Ugly Cried with Desi Lydic” (Comedy Central)
  • Marielle Heller – “What the Constitution Means to Me” (Amazon)
  • Jim Hoskinson – “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert“, “Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand: Building Back America Great Again Better 2020” (Showtime)
  • Spike Lee – “David Byrne’s American Utopia” (HBO)
  • Thomas Schlamme – “A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote” (HBO Max)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs

  • David Charles – “Eco Challenge”, “3,2,1…Go!” (Amazon)
  • Jon Favreau – “The Chef Show”, “Tartine” (Netflix)
  • Ken Fuchs – “Shark Tank“, “1211” (ABC)
  • Joseph Guidry – “Full Bloom”, “Petal to the Metal” (HBO Max)
  • Rich Kim – “LEGO Masters“, “Mega City Block” (Fox)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children’s Programs

  • Kabir Akhtar – “High School Musical: The Musical” – The Series, “Opening Night” (Disney+)
  • Larissa Bills – “On Pointe”, “Showtime!” (Disney+)
  • Dean Israelite – “The Astronauts”, “Countdown” (Nickelodeon)
  • Richie Keen – “The Healing Powers of Dude“, “Second Step: Homeroom” (Netflix)
  • Amy Schatz – “We Are the Dream: The Kids of the Oakland MLK Oratorical Fest” (HBO)


Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials

  • Steve Ayson (MJZ) – “The Great Chase”, Nike – Wieden + Kennedy Shanghai
  • Nisha Ganatra (Chelsea Pictures) – “#wombstories”, Bodyform/Libresse – AMVBBDO
  • Niclas Larsson (MJZ) – “See the Unseen”, VW Touareg – adam&eveDDB; “The Parents”, Volvo XC60 – Forsman & Bodenfors
  • Melina Matsoukas (Prettybird) – “You Love Me”, Beats by Dr. Dre – Translation
  • Taika Waititi (Hungry Man) – “The Letter”, Coca-Cola – Wieden & Kennedy London


Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary

  • Michael Dweck & Gregory Kershaw – “The Truffle Hunters” (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Pippa Ehrlich & James Reed – “My Octopus Teacher” (Netflix)
  • David France – “Welcome to Chechnya” (HBO Max)
  • Amanda McBaine & Jesse Moss – “Boys State” (Apple/A24)
  • Benjamin Ree – “The Painter and the Thief” (Elevation Pictures)

Source: Read Full Article