Best New Tracks: Kendrick Lamar x Taylour Paige, Nicki Minaj, Freddie Gibbs x Moneybagg Yo and More

As the week in music comes to a close, HYPEBEAST has rounded up the best projects for the latest installment of Best New Tracks.

This week’s list is led by Kendrick Lamar with Taylour Paige, Nicki Minaj and Freddie Gibbs with Moneybagg Yo, who released the music videos for “We Cry Together” and “Super Freaky Girl,” along with the collaborative single “Too Much.” Also joining this selection are offerings from Son Little, Kali Uchis, Merlyn Wood, Kenny Beats, Arctic Monkeys, Ari Lennox and Mount Kimbie with slowthai, Danny Brown and Liv.e.

Kendrick Lamar x Taylour Paige – “We Cry Together”

Kendrick Lamar globally premieres his short film for “We Cry Together,” the Mr. Morale & the Big Steppers track featuring Taylour Paige. Directed by Jake Schreier, Dave Free and K-Dot himself, the emotional six-minute visual captures the worst of abusive relationships — translating the message of the song.

Watch: YouTube

Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”

Nicki Minaj debuts the official music video for “Super Freaky Girl,” her latest single that samples Rick James. The track recently gave the rapper her first solo No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and her third overall, following 2020’s “Trollz” with 6ix9ine and Doja Cat’s “Say So.”

Watch: YouTube

Freddie Gibbs x Moneybagg Yo – “Too Much”

Freddie Gibbs announces the release date of his highly-anticipated $oul $old $eparately with the new single “Too Much,” featuring Moneybagg Yo. The track’s accompanying music video pays homage to classic heist films along the lines of the Ocean’s series as Gibbs makes his escapade in a casino.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Son Little – “inside out”

Son Little preps his upcoming Like Neptune with the final pre-release single, “inside out.” The cut touches on generational trauma, which came to the artist “very quickly” and felt “very natural.” He added,“I looped up the piano and drums and then freestyled into this echo chamber effect and voila.” Like Neptune drops September 9.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Merlyn Wood – “ONE OF US”

BROCKHAMPTON’s Merlyn Wood shares his new single “ONE OF US,” a deeply personal track produced by Lido. A music video helmed by Sean Russo and dramatizes the artist’s “conflict with a powerful metaphor about his loss of control and experiences with disoriented hazes.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Arctic Monkeys – “There’d Better Be A Mirrorball”

As Arctic Monkeys prepare to drop their first album in four years, The Car, the Sheffield-born band drops its lead single “There’d Better Be A Mirrorball.” The upcoming record is set to drop October 21 and was recorded with regular collaborator and producer James Ford in rural Suffolk during Summer 2021, with the band heading to the converted monastery Butley Priory.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Ari Lennox – Away Message

As fans await her upcoming album age/sex/location, Ari Lennox shares her surprise EP Away Message. Clocking in at approximately 15 minutes, the four-track project features a guest appearance from Summer Walker on the opening track “Queen Space. age/sex/location, the followup to 2019’s Shea Butter Baby, drops September 9.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Kali Uchis – “NO HAY LEY”

Kali Uchis drops second single of 2022, “NO HAY LEY.” Produced by Ovy On The Drums, El Guincho, Jam City and Uchis herself, with the artist stating, “I wrote this song about putting love above all else.” She added, “‘En el amor no hay ley’ means ‘there are no laws to love.’ Be with who makes you happy, and don’t listen to what anyone else has to say about it because it wasn’t their business in the first place!”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Kenny Beats – LOUIE

After working with Vince Staples for RAMONA PARK BROKE MY HEART and Denzel Curry for “Troubles,” Kenny Beats is here with his debut solo studio album LOUIE. The 17-track album clocks in at approximately 35 minutes with no features, and is his first full-length release since 2020’s Unlocked with Curry.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Mount Kimbie x slowthai x Danny Brown x Liv.e – MK 3.5

Mount Kimbie delivers new double AA-side singles for the MK 3.5 project, “in your eyes” featuring slowthai and Danny Brown, “a deities encore” featuring Liv.e, “Q” and “Quartz.” This marks the first original material from the pair since 2021’s “Black Stone/Blue Liquid.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music
Source: Read Full Article